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Wage and Insurance Verification FAQ 
 

1. Why are employers required to provide employment and income 

information for employees? 

California Family Code section 17512 requires employers to provide 

relevant employment and income information about your 

employees and independent contractors, including gig economy 

workers. The form is used to establish, modify, or enforce support 

obligations to the local child support agency (LCSA) or requesting 

agency. 

2. How should employers report employment and income information? 

To remain compliant with California Family Code 17512, when an 

employer receives the Wage and Insurance Verification form (DCSS-

0230), you are required to complete and return the form in the 30 

calendar day timeframe.  

3. What are third-party employment and income verification providers? 

These are fee-based services that provide employment and income 

information on behalf of employers and government agencies. The 

Work Number (TWN) is the largest fee-based, third-party service 

provider. 

4. Does California Department of Child Support Services partner with 

third-party employment and income verification providers? 

No, California Department of Child Support Services (DCSS) does not 

partner with any fee-based third-party employment and income 

verification services.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=FAM&sectionNum=17512.
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2025/03/WageInsuranceVerification_03042025.pdf
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5. Can third-party verification provider information still be used? 

Yes, information compiled by third-party verification services can be 

obtained through the third-party verification portal and included 

with the Wage and Insurance Verification form when mailed back to 

the LCSA.  

6. How does this request impact independent contractors or gig 

economy workers?  

This form pertains to all types of employment. Provide all income 

information that is available. This assists the case worker in 

determining the correct order amount for both parties. 

7. Are we able to provide copies of pay stubs? 

Yes, copies of pay stubs or 1099s for up to 12 months can be 

attached to the Wage and Insurance Verification form. This does not 

replace the required information. Employers will not be considered 

compliant unless all requested information is provided. 

8. When reporting wages, are we providing gross or net income? 

Provide the gross monthly income for the past 12 months, or if 

employed less than 12 months, provide the gross monthly income for 

the months available. 

9. How do we report an employee’s pay if it varies weekly? 

Provide pay stubs for 12 months or provide the varying gross monthly 

pay for a 12-month period. If employed less than 12 months, provide 

the gross income for the available period. 

10. Should N/A be entered on an item that does not apply, or can it be 

left blank? 

Please put N/A on fields that do not apply. 

11. Does the Wage and Insurance Verification form need to be 

resubmitted when an IWO is received? 

No, this form only needs to be completed upon receipt from the 

LCSA. 
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12. What if we get this form and the employee is no longer employed by 

us? 

On the Wage and Insurance Verification form, under the Employee 

Work Status section, select the no longer employed check box and 

provide the last date employed, reason for termination of 

employment, and if known, provide the new employer’s name and 

address. 

13. If no longer employed, do we need to be specific or is voluntary or 

involuntary termination acceptable? 

Specifics on the reason for termination are not required. 

14. Can this form be completed online? 

No, the form cannot currently be completed online. However, DCSS 

is developing an online submission option. 

15. Can I email this information? 

Each county is managed individually. Please check with the 

managing county case worker to see if this is an option.   

16. Does the employee need to be notified when a Wage and Insurance 

Verification form has been completed? 

No, the employee does not need to be notified. 

17. If we are an employer but the health insurance is handled through 

the union, whose responsibility is it to return the Wage and Insurance 

Verification form? 

It is the employer’s responsibility to complete the form and return it to 

the LCSA. Note on the form under the Health Insurance Information 

section, that health benefits are handled through the union. 
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18. What steps do we take if the employee’s information on the form, 

such as name or SSN, do not match our records?  

Correct the information on the form before returning or contact the 

LCSA at 1-866-901-3212.  

19. Where can I find more information about employment verification? 

This information can be found on the Employment Verification 

section of the Employer Resource Center on our DCSS website at 

Employment Verification - DCSS.  

20. Who can I call for questions?  

The managing county is able to assist you. Please direct all case 

specific inquiries to 1-866-901-3212. 

 

https://dcss.ca.gov/employment-verification/

