
   September 2025 1 

 

 

• Report new hires or rehires within 20 calendar days. 

• Respond to Verification of Employment letters within 30 
days. 

• Respond to National Medical Support Notices (NMSNs) 
within 40 days. 

• Enroll dependent children in health care coverage when 
ordered by a court or per the NMSN. 

• Withhold payments according to Income Withholding Order 
(IWO). Begin withholding the first pay period the order is 
received. 

• Remit payments to the State Disbursement Unit (SDU) 

per the IWO. 

• Notify the CA Department of Child Support Services 
(DCSS) regarding bonuses or lump-sum payments  

at: lumpsumresponseteam@dcss.ca.gov  

• Report terminated employees that have an IWO. 
 

 
 

• Employers must complete and return the Wage and 
Insurance Verification form (DCSS 0230) within 30 days of 
receipt for traditional employees, seasonal employees, 
and independent contractors. 

• DCSS requires that you respond directly to the local child 
support agency (LCSA) for verification of employment 
requests. 

• DCSS no longer partners with fee-based third-party 
verification providers. For more information visit the 
Employer Resource Center-Employment Verification. 

(California Family Code - FAM § 17512) 
 

 

• Report bonus or lump sum payments prior to payout by 
contacting DCSS at: 

lumpsumresponseteam@dcss.ca.gov or 1-916-464-6640 

• Bonus and lump sum payments made to employees are 
considered income and may be garnished to collect 
past-due child support. Examples include severance, 
vacation payouts, retirement incentives, commissions, 
awards, and payments as a result of a settlement fund. 
For more information on bonus and lump sum payments 
visit the Employer Resource Center- Payments page. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

WHAT TO REPORT: 

• New hires, rehired, and independent contractors must be 
reported to Employment Development Department 
(EDD) within 20 calendar days at the California’s New 
Employer Registry. 

• Independent contractors include all Gig economy 
workers. 

• CA required data elements: 

» Employer legal business name 

» Employer payroll address 

» Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 

» Employee full name 

» Employee home address 

» Employee SSN 

» Employees start of work date 
 

WHERE TO REPORT NEW HIRES AND 
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS: 

• Report to EDD electronically through e-Services for 

Business at e-Services for Business. 

• Fax: 1-916-319-4400 

• Mail: 

Employment Development Department Document 

Management Group, MIC 96 

P. O. Box 997016 

West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 

(The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA)) 
 

 

• Employers with employees in more than one state have 
the option to report all new hires to one state. 

• To register as a multi-state employer with the Federal 
Office of Child Support Services (OCSS), complete the 
multistate form on the OCSS website at Multistate 
Employer Registration Form and Instructions.   

 
 
 
 

 

 

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES 

 

 
California Employer Website: https://dcss.ca.gov/employer-resource/ DCSS Contact: 1-866-901-3212 
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VERIFICATION OF EMPLOYMENT 

NEW HIRE REPORTING 

NEW HIRE REPORTING FOR MULTISTATE 

EMPLOYERS 

BONUS/LUMP SUM 

https://acf.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/omb_0970_0222_a.pdf
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2023/03/OMB-0970-0154_IncomeWithholding_03222023.pdf
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2023/03/OMB-0970-0154_IncomeWithholding_03222023.pdf
mailto:lumpsumresponseteam@dcss.ca.gov
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2025/03/WageInsuranceVerification_03042025.pdf
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2025/03/WageInsuranceVerification_03042025.pdf
https://childsupport.ca.gov/find-my-local-agency/
https://childsupport.ca.gov/find-my-local-agency/
https://dcss.ca.gov/employment-verification/
https://dcss.ca.gov/employment-verification/
https://dcss.ca.gov/employment-verification/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=17512.&lawCode=FAM
mailto:lumpsumresponseteam@dcss.ca.gov
https://dcss.ca.gov/payment-information/
https://edd.ca.gov/en/Payroll_Taxes/New_Hire_Reporting
https://edd.ca.gov/en/Payroll_Taxes/New_Hire_Reporting
https://edd.ca.gov/en/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business/
https://acf.gov/css/policy-guidance/personal-responsibility-and-work-opportunity-reconciliation-act-1996
https://acf.gov/css/policy-guidance/personal-responsibility-and-work-opportunity-reconciliation-act-1996
https://acf.gov/css/form/multistate-employer-registration-form-instructions
https://acf.gov/css/form/multistate-employer-registration-form-instructions
https://dcss.ca.gov/employer-resource/
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BENEFITS OF e-IWO 

• The employer must notify the employee and provide a
copy of the IWO and the Request for Request for
Hearing Regarding Earnings Assignment (FL-450), within
10 days of receiving an IWO (form OMB 0970-0154 or
form FL-195).

• The employer must begin withholding the amount
specified on the order no later than the first pay period
after receipt of the IWO. Employers must deduct child
support payments on scheduled pay dates.

• The employer must remit the payment to the SDU within
7 business days of the pay date/date of withholding. The
employer may charge the employee an administrative fee
of up to $1.50 for each payment.

(Title IV-D of the Federal SSA at Title 42, US Code § 651)

• IWOs can be received electronically (e-IWOs) through
one of three options: e-IWO online, System to System,
and No Programming. For more information visit OCSS-
e-IWO.

• Provides a secure and fast method of reporting.

• Reduces paper and processing time.

• Improves the quality of data submission.

• Distributes support to families efficiently.

• California employers are required to submit payments
electronically to the SDU.

• The SDU offers electronic payment options through
ExpertPay.

» ACH Debit, Credit Card, Venmo, Visa, MasterCard,
Discover Credit Card, PayPal, Google Pay, and Apple
Pay.

» Electronic Funds Transfer.

To enroll, go to ExpertPay and register using Legal 
Business Name, FEIN, and Payroll Address. 

» For questions about ExpertPay, please call 1-800-
403-0879.

ExpertPay also offers free Bulk-File Upload 
capabilities to remit payments for employers with 
multiple employees and independent contractors. 

(California Family Code – FAM § 17309.5) 

• Within 10 days of the date on the NMSN, provide the

employee with a copy and the Statement of

Employee’s Rights.

• Within 20 days of the date on the NMSN, return Part

A (Employer Response) to the LCSA.

• Within 20 days of receiving the NMSN, provide the health

insurance company with the instructions to enroll the

dependents.

• Within 40 business days, the employer must provide the

LCSA with a description of the coverage available, along

with any forms required to activate coverage or claim

benefits. This information should be submitted on the

Health Insurance Information (DCSS 0054) form which

will be included in the NMSN packet. 

(22 CA Code of Regs 110570) 

• When an employee with an IWO terminates employment,
your company must notify the LCSA.

• There are two ways to notify the LCSA of a termination:

» Complete the online Termination of Benefits form,

OR 

» Complete page four of the Income Withholding Order,
mail or fax to the LCSA.

• Explore resources like the Employer Handbook, forms,
events, and view the video library at the Employer
Resource Center.

• Make secure payments quickly and easily.

• Stay informed by joining our email subscription list for
updates and announcements.

• Keep your company details current using the Update
Employer Information Form.
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INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER 

ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS 

NATIONAL MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE 

TERMINATIONS 

For additional information visit the Employer Handbook located on https://dcss.ca.gov/employer-resource/ 

EMPLOYER RESOURCE CENTER 

https://courts.ca.gov/sites/default/files/courts/default/2024-11/fl450.pdf
https://courts.ca.gov/sites/default/files/courts/default/2024-11/fl450.pdf
https://acf.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/omb_0970_0154.pdf
https://acf.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/omb_0970_0154.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2011-title42/html/USCODE-2011-title42-chap7-subchapIV-partD.htm
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/employers/e-iwo
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/employers/e-iwo
https://www.expertpay.com/
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2025/06/UserGuideforElectronicChildSupport_06232025.pdf
https://www.expertpay.com/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=17309.5&lawCode=FAM
https://acf.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/omb_0970_0222_a.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/olms/regs/compliance/eo_posters/employeerightsposter11x17_2019final.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/olms/regs/compliance/eo_posters/employeerightsposter11x17_2019final.pdf
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2022/12/HealthInsuranceInformation_12122022.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/california/22-CCR-110570#:~:text=Cal.-,Code%20Regs.,110570%20%2D%20National%20Medical%20Support%20Notice&text=%22National%20Medical%20Support%20Notice%22%20means,obligor%27s%20minor%20child%20(ren).
https://dcss.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/345/2022/11/TerminationofBenefits_Form_08192019.pdf
https://acf.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ocse/omb_0970_0154.pdf
https://dcss.ca.gov/employer-resource/
https://dcss.ca.gov/employer-resource/
https://cadcss.prod.simpligov.com/prod/portal/ShowWorkFlow/AnonymousEmbed/cef778e5-af63-48a6-b4e0-074c84f2baa5
https://dcss.ca.gov/update-contact-information/
https://dcss.ca.gov/update-contact-information/
https://dcss.ca.gov/employer-resource/

